First Review of a Wedding Dinner – #KJMOWedding

Posted: March 14, 2014 in Randomness
Tags: , ,

Wedding DinnerSpring 2014

Wedding season has begun in 2014, and I was very honored to attend the special day of Michael O’Keefe and Kristen Jackson at Disney’s Shades of Green. It provided a fantastic location and plenty of great photo opportunities for the lovely couple.

However, my main focus was on what food items they planned to serve me.

Once I sat down I gazed at the menu on the table and I instantly became delighted…and hungry. Michael and Kristen clearly thought of me when they made their selections.

I said screw the salad and those green beans, bring me the meat! Well, maybe those words were not uttered, but I turned aside the leafy greens and shoved the beans around the plate because the objects I desired were:

-Petit filet of beef filled with boursin cheese and red wine sauce

-Seared breast of chicken with mustard sauce

-Mashed potatoes

I love the word seared. It should be used a lot more in the food world.

The beef and chicken hit the spot after an hour of hors d’oeuvres and perfect booze (I tipped enough where I did not have any money left in my wallet). Both proved to be juicy and flavorful, and I could have downed a couple more helpings. Yet dessert was waiting.

I definitely did not go for the lemon wedding cake, but dove in to the chocolate and vanilla marble cake with amaretto and hazelnut filling and butter cream frosting. Late-night cookies were a dynamic touch as well, but I should have learned to pair the desserts up with a better drink than just Sam Adams.

The only change I would make to the dinner portion of service was to have had each server manage one table by themselves and they would ask 10 trivia questions to entertain us while we ate. Oh, and have an adult ball pit.

Leave a Reply

