Old Fashioned Cookie Dough – Toft’s Dairy, Sandusky, Ohio

Posted: August 4, 2013 in Randomness
Tags: , , , , ,

ToftsSummer 2013

When a place has a reputation as one of the best ice cream joints in the land, I cannot forgive myself for failing to stop by every chance I get. But this summer while in Sandusky, Ohio, I finally did it. Only I wish I would have given myself more time to decide which flavor I wanted.

“Ohio’s Oldest Dairy,” Toft’s offers up some of the most incredible ice cream concoctions I have ever laid my eyes on, for example:
-Herd of Cows
-Island Sunrise
-Peppermint Party Mint
-Pumpkin Pie
-Cotton Candy Confetti
-Wedding Cake
-Howly Toledo
-Lake Erie Islands Cherry Amaretto Fudge
-Mackinac Island Fudge Brownie
-Buckeye Bites
-Bullpen Chocolate

With encouragement from the friendly (but fake) cow in front of the store, I wanted a simple flavor for this visit and went with Old Fashioned Cookie Dough. I will try one of the items above the next time I am in Sandusky, which likely will not be until the summer of 2014. I did feel rushed with my option, though, because the long line went fast and the selections sprawled out over the length of practically a football field. With people waiting behind me I simply said, “Cookie dough.”

Toft'sI was not disappointed. The term, “Goes Down Smooth,” certainly related with every bite. Cookie dough seems to get tiring after a few bites and my taste buds begin demanding a little difference, however Toft’s never gave me that feeling. Every spoonful paid off.

My favorite ice cream comes at the hands of Independent Dairy in Michigan, but I would spend a good chunk of money if I could get these two companies side-by-side in an ultimate taste test. Actually, that is what needs to happen somewhere, kind of like a food truck bazaar, but every food truck had ice cream.

As for living in Florida, I guess I will stick with Bruster’s.

Leave a Reply

