Standard Grilled Burgers with Toasted Bread Slices

Posted: May 28, 2013 in Burgers
Tags: , , , , ,

Grilled BurgersMay 26, 2013

I would predict that the majority of burger-loving individuals have their own specific way of preparing their works of art. And I encourage these difference-makers of the world to continue to develop interesting methods of cooking their burgers. It helps inspire me, and that’s really what it’s all about.

For Memorial Day, I just wanted a standard burger. Make that three.  And after a quick trip to Winn-Dixie, I had three pre-made 80/20 patties. I do not quite know what it is, but Winn-Dixie seems to have a quality meat selection at friendly prices. Since I was not excited about spending extra money and accessories, I brought a loaf of bread from home, a slice of Swiss and two slices of white American.

And a six-pack of Miller Chill bottles for less than $5 from Target.

Using a friend’s outdoor grill, I elegantly placed the burgers on top. I added a dash of rosemary to one and some garlic salt to the other two. After flipping, I covered the grill with six pieces of bread, then added the cheese.

I always say the taste of a burger is affected by the bun you use. I never like to go with just toasted bread, however, if done properly, the slices may not get soggy with juices, which stay contained inside the structure. That was exactly what took place with my burgers. Each bite was a flavorful extravaganza that tantalized my stomach. I wanted more, so I wrapped up my eating adventure this night with two ears of grilled corn and half of a chicken breast (Thanks Megan and Anthony!).

Going along with the norm, I agree that getting 80/20 ground chunk has to be done. I do not prefer getting frozen, boxed patties although there are some companies that produce a semi-good product. I simply think it’s a gamble, and I will always scour the fresh meat section in my grocer’s freezer for something I trust.

While I do not have a grill of my own anymore, that will be my first purchase the next time I move. Until then, I guess I will have to go back to pan-frying. Or crash my friends’ houses even more.

Leave a Reply

