Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes at Briarpatch – Winter Park, Fla.

Posted: January 5, 2013 in Randomness
Tags: , , , ,

BriarpatchJan. 5, 2013

Neglecting my blog for most of the fall due to work, I was not sure how to pick this back up. I could focus on several eateries I frequented during my travels to places such as El Paso, Tulsa, Toledo and West Virginia (wow, what a disturbing list). From supreme nachos and numerous burgers to basement bars and craft beers, I have a lot of delicious options for my brain.

However, after the meal that currently rests in my stomach I have elected to touch on an establishment by the name of Briarpatch.

Located in Winter Park near the city by the lake called Eola, Briarpatch specializes in brunch. I have never been a huge supporter of this brunch thing, maybe because I feel that breakfast should be available in every restaurant at all hours of the day. Why Sausage McMuffins are not on the menu at 10:31 a.m. is beyond my comprehension.

By the time it is 11 a.m. I usually have transitioned to lunch mode yet on this day Jessica desired to take me to Winter Park for brunch and my craving for breakfast was strong. We attempted to find a table at Briarpatch in the fall only to discover the line resembled the time it takes for me to decide if I want a mint chocolate chip shake or a brownie fudge shake from Steak n’ Shake. We did not want to wait that long.

On this trip, we waited for about four minutes until they sat us in the very back corner, probably because they could tell I would be an annoying customer. The front side of the menu placed in front of my eyes displayed breakfast along with a small adult beverage selection. That included a variety of omelettes, waffles, French toast, fried green tomatoes and scrambles.

Always on the lookout for scrumptious pancakes due to my high school days of chowing down approximately 30 one night in Toledo (and throwing them up 10 minutes later – they were small and gross but I loved them), I ordered up the chocolate chip buttermilk pancakes with home fries. I did not think that would be enough to please my hungry appetite. I was deadly wrong.

When they arrived, the pancakes had chocolate chips on top and in between each layer. The warmth melted them to a smooth richness that blended elegantly together. I barely even touched the maple syrup provided to me. I did not need it. Bring the home fries to the party and my opinion of brunch quickly started to change. Three pancakes proved to be a ton, and I only could chomp on 75% of what laid on the plate. The best pancakes in my lifetime? Quite possibly.

Giving that this restaurant situates itself in Winter Park, the prices were a touch high, but I ultimately admit it was still worth it. A future visit will likely bring me either a grafton white cheddar & sugar cured bacon burger or the blackened grouper. And of course a toasted lager.

Leave a Reply

