Food Survey Results – Part I of III

Posted: July 22, 2012 in Randomness
Tags: , , ,

July 22, 2012

My mind always flutters away from my daily activities and proceeds to think about food. Specifically, where can I experience the best this world has to offer?

Books and websites may be able to help my dilemma, but I prefer to rely on first-hand accounts from people I know and trust. So I posed three important questions to a group of volunteers who seem to feel either excited, dejected or perturbed when I asked them for their help. But I appreciate the responses I received. Questions two and three will be posted at a later date.

Question No. 1 – What is the best eatery in Orlando?

I knew what the majority answer would be, and that rests in the name of 4Rivers Smokehouse. But only four people put it at the top, although many still said it was one of their favorites. I personally cannot answer 4Rivers yet since I have only frequented this establishment once, and my minimum number of visits before placing it in my top five is two (good gosh were those ribs amazing).

I was surprised at the mix of answers, but here are the results (it continues to be updated):

4Rivers – 4

Lazy Moon – 2

Graffiti Junktion – 2

Shula’s Steak House – 1

Mellow Mushroom – 1

Chick-Fil-A – 1

Chipotle – 1

Tibby’s New Orleans Kitchen – 1

Bahama Breeze – 1

Huey Magoo’s – 1

Tijuana Flats – 1

The Ravenous Pig – 1

Greens & Grille – 1

Bonefish Grill – 1

Mark’s Caribbean Cuisine – 1

Houston’s – 1

Townhouse – 1

Some the best descriptions provided in these answers (descriptions were not required, but certainly welcomed):

– Shula’s Steak House at Dolphin Hotel – finished the famed 48-oz steak. – MD

– Lately (in the last year or so) I’ve become a big fan of Tibby’s New Orleans Kitchen.  Pretty darned good authentic food. The ambience is pretty cool, too. I also love to go for oysters at a place called “The Thirsty Gator” on Goldenrod south of University.  It’s a dive bar that has great big Galveston Oysters and a pretty good burger. – JK

– I cannot give ONE favorite in Orlando so I will have to list The Ravenous Pig, Pine22, Luma on Park Ave., 4Rivers BBQ, Cecil’s BBQ and Amura Sushi. I’ll stop there. – SN

– There was a place called Houston’s on Orlando Ave in Winter Park that was pretty impressive. Lots of flavor in their dishes. It’s called Hillstone now, but I have not tried it since the name changed. I also frequent Royal Thai on Semoran or Wasabi in Winter Park when I’m not eating garbage bar food while watching sports on big-screen televisions. Orlando Alehouse, anyone? – JC

– I would have to go with the Townhouse in Oviedo cause I break for Chickens. – JH

Comments
  1. This is a great post…. I have not tried 4Rivers yet…. blasphemy I know…. but most of the places listed are among my favorites.

  2. […] This makes my mouth water. […]

Leave a Reply

