Baked Parmesan and Herb Chicken

Posted: June 1, 2012 in Randomness
Tags: , ,

May 30, 2012

Discovering this recipe online (Eat-Yourself-Skinny.com, which is not my kind of name for a website), I was immediately tempted. I am always in the mood for different chicken meals, and the title alone sparked my interest. But maybe it was because I remember making an herbal chicken pizza at Rosie’s Italian Restaurant in Toledo, and I just liked saying “herbal chicken.”

I really am never one who sticks with a recipe; I enjoy adding my own touch every time. The only changes I made to this, though, were money-saving differences such as not buying fresh rosemary and thyme, but using a small jar of Italian seasoning. I also did not have Dijon mustard so I simply used a spicy version as a replacement, and the original recipe called for minced garlic so I settled with garlic powder.

The combinations worked deliciously. Having an outer crust on the chicken brought out tremendous flavor, as well as made the kitchen smell incredibly ferocious. With herbs filling my nostrils and my belly, I gobbled it up in a speedy fashion. On the side rested red potatoes cooked on the stove and eventually mixed with butter, salt and pepper. I like pepper.

One of the best parts about this recipe is how you really only need to purchase chicken breasts and bread crumbs (unless of course those are already in the refrigerator as well). You do not have to go out and spend lots of money on different spices, but you can substitute whatever might be lying around. And the result is so money.

What You’ll Need

4 – Skinless chicken breasts

1 CUP – panko bread crumbs

2/3 CUP – Parmesan cheese

3 TSP – Italian seasoning (or 1 TSP chopped rosemary and 2 TSP thyme)

4 TBS – Butter

1 TSP – Dijon or spicy mustard

1 TSP – Worcestershire sauce

1 TSP – Garlic

The Steps

1)      Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2)      Combine panko bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese and herbs.

3)      In a saucepan, melt butter and stir in mustard, Worcestershire and garlic.

4)      Remove from heat.

5)      Dip chicken into butter mixture, roll in breadcrumb mixture and make sure all crumbs cling.

6)      Place on baking pan and bake for 30 minutes.

Comments
  1. […] And yet every item that has slithered down into my tummy has created a story to tell. From the Baked Parmesan and Herb Chicken to the ultimate food survey, the blog has for sure served as an inspiration to about three people […]

Leave a Reply

