Brown Sugar Grilled Cheese with Ham

Posted: April 15, 2012 in Sandwiches
Tags: , ,

April 12, 2012 – National Grilled Cheese Day

Confining myself to the city limits of Orlando on National Grilled Cheese Day, I did not have the pleasure of frequenting The Melt Bar and Grilled in Cleveland, which serves up the best sandwiches in the country. Instead I let my mind do the work for me with what I had laying around in my refrigerator. So I grabbed some shaved ham from the Target deli along with prepackaged slices of American and Swiss cheese, as well as some shredded cheddar.

Always enjoying the club-style sandwich, I whipped out three slices of standard white bread, yet I knew something should be added. Scoping out my spice rack, nothing stood out until my eyes peered towards my canisters, one of which stored brown sugar. The idea was complete.

The stove was fired up to medium and my bread was buttered lightly on both sides. Eventually I sprinkled brown sugar on just one side of the outer slices and let it come to a light brown color before flipping. The brown sugar delicately filled my nostrils as it quickly formed a crunchy texture. When the bread was ready, I added American and Swiss with some of the Cheddar on top of one slice along with some ham, then duplicated that event to one more slice. As it melted, the sandwich was constructed, flipped once on the skillet so it evenly cooked and tossed over to my plate.

Depending on how much cheese and ham used, this grilled cheese can develop into a filling meal. The brown sugar bread created a sweetness delivery into the mouth before the cheese took over. It was a surprisingly great combination, and a cheery moment on one of the best days of the year.

What You’ll Need (Substitute Anything Your Heart Desires)

White Bread – Three slices

Deli Ham – Preferably shaved

American Cheese – Two slices

Swiss Cheese – Two slices

Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Brown Sugar

The Steps

1)      Butter each side of the bread and put on a pan at medium heat

2)      As they are browning, sprinkle brown sugar on the top of two bread slices so they are 50 percent covered

3)      Flip the bread over when they start to get golden

4)      Once the brown sugar begins to form a layer, add all three kinds of cheeses and ham to the tops of the two brown sugared bread pieces

5)      As it begins to melt, form the sandwich and flip once to evenly heat

6)      Dominate it

Leave a Reply

